Worldwide Diversity of Reptiles (2000-2020)

Number of reptile species on various continents and in selected geographic areas:

World Reptile Map Reptile map 2020  

These numbers are simply derived from searching the database for the countries that make up a continent or area. Please note that the sum of all numbers is much larger than the number of species because many species occur in 2 or more adjacent areas (e.g. Central and South America). Some areas such as Florida also host a significant number of introduced species which are counted here for both their area of origin and their area of introduction.

Continents and areas are defined (to some extent arbitrarily) as follows:

Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Near East: Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

Asia: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bhutan, Burma, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Estonia, Georgia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Moldova, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Sunda Region, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tibet, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, USSR, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Azores, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Yugoslavia (including Bosnia-Hercegowina, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Serbia, Macedonia, Kosovo).

Australia: Australia.

North America: USA, Canada.

Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama.

South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, Trinidad, Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Caribbean: Anguilla, Antigua, Antilles, Barbuda , Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Hispaniola, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Navassa, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Turks, Caicos Islands, Virgin Islands.

Indian Ocean: Comoros, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles.

Oceania: Admirality, Cook Islands, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Micronesia , Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Pitcairn Islands, Polynesia, Samoa, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Western Samoa.


Please note that the continent assignments have been made automatically and manually edited subsequently. Hence there might be slight differences to the numbers in the map if you search the database for these countries. In addition, take into account the pitfalls with geographic names.

References: Data on geographic distribution are derived from general references and from references listed on the family pages and in individual species entries.

This page is maintained by Peter Uetz

Created: 8 December 1999 / Last changed or updated: 20 Feb 2021